Facebook Like & Lite go the way of the Dodo

Posted on April 20, 2010. Filed under: facebook, Mobile, social media | Tags: , , |


It appears that two Facebook features have gone the way of the Dodo bird: Facebook Lite & the “Like” button.

My thoughts on these two topics are simple: I never understood the real purpose of either. FB Lite didn’t make sense because most mobile users utilized a mobile app designed for their phone. I am not happy with the “like” option instead of “Become a fan”. I believe people make a conscious decision when they choose to become a fan. Just because I like something doesn’t mean I want to receive information in my live feed. I also believe it hurts the brands with regard to engagement. They really have no idea who is truly engaged with their brand and who is not. I hope FB does not bring it back.

The thing I do like about FB is that they appear to be a company that learns from experimentation. I do believe they incorporated many advancements they learned from the “Lite” experiment into their mobile apps. They have been responsive to many concerns from users about changes. I hope they tested the “Like” feature and determined that users and companies alike did not like the change.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Facebook Like & Lite go the way of the Dodo”

RSS Feed for Social Gorilla Media Blog Comments RSS Feed

It looks like “like” is back. I am no fan.

[...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Michael Black. Michael Black said: Facebook Like & Lite go the way of the Dodo: http://wp.me/pN3jr-I [...]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

